Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Background Information
The resources included below include dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, etc. that can help you get started with your research and can help you as you begin reading your topic and need to look up a word or person.
Oxford Art Online
Good place to look for biographies of your artist. And to look generally for history of art in the country your artist is from/produces art.
To find books (and more!) use DePauw's Discovery search. It will also search materials owned by libraries all over the world.
Finding Articles in Library Databases
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals and magazines covering fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Also indexes book reviews, dissertations and art reproductions.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Abstracts journal articles, books, etc. Modern & contemporary art (from the late 19th century onwards), including the history of photography.
Art & Architecture ePortal (A&AePortal) This link opens in a new window
eBook resource that features scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of Art provides coverage of international art scholarship ranging from European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Includes all media: painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
Finding Articles in Newspapers
New York Times (1980 - current) This link opens in a new window
Search the New York Times within the U.S. Major Dailies collection.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A full-text article database of popular and trade news from around the world; company profiles; accounting literature and legal information largely focusing on U.S. and North America.