Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to Summer Research 2019!
This LibGuide will give you an introduction to literature resources you can use during your summer research.
Caroline Gilson, the science librarian, will also be a good human resource. She has an office in the Prevo Science Library, but is working remotely from home (as of March 16, 2020). The DePauw Libraries are closed at this time as well, but library services are still happening online (online ILL, access to databases and e-books, access to the librarians via email, phone or video chat). Even though we may not have access to some of the print items listed in this Guide, it is still important to know about them and you can use them once the Science Library reopens.
Caroline is happy to meet for a research consultation: set up an appointment by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org
Starting Points for Research
Academic Search Complete
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
The ACS Online Journals package provides the full text of over 30 peer reviewed journals and magazines published by the American Chemical Society. The articles are fully searchable and are available in full text in pdf format. The ACS Journal Archives extends the online full text of ACS publications back to their inaugural issues, over 120 years of content.
Literature reviews in biomedical sciences, physical sciences and social sciences.
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals Archive
Access to British chemistry journals (some titles 1841-2007; others 2007-present).
Science Direct College Editions
Includes some 1,600 full-text Elsevier journals in four collections: Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, and Social Sciences & Humanities. Full-text coverage starts in 1995 or later (depending on journal) and continues to the present.
SciFinder-n is the most comprehensive database for the chemical literature, searchable by topic, author, substances by name or CAS Registry Number, OR use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. SciFinder-n is the new version of SciFinder.
If you already have a SciFinder account, you will be able to log in to SciFinder-n via the new platform and do not need to set up a new account. If you are new to SciFinder-n, please contact Caroline Gilson (email@example.com) for Registration information. You MUST use an email address that ends with "depauw.edu"
Open access preprints. (The term preprint most often refers to a manuscript that has gone through an initial review and now awaits full peer-review and publication in a traditional journal. A preprint accessible over the Web may also be referred to as an e-print.)
ChemRxiv (pronounced 'chem-archive') is a free submission, distribution and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas. It gives researchers across a broad range of chemistry fields the opportunity to share early results with colleagues and respond to comments and recommendations for improvement, ahead of formal peer review and publication.