Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Starting Your Search
- It helps to start by writing a list of terms that you will use in your search.
- Keep notes as you research, the terms you used, where you searched, what you found.
- Once you have some terms do some background research to add more terms to your list.
- Now you have a bit more information on your topic start looking for more in depth information.
- Search for books, use the bibliography to find even more books or articles. Call numbers starting with A-D are on the second floor, E-Z are on the third floor.
- Use library databases to search for articles.
- As you encounter words, theories, etc. that you don't know circle back to do more background reading.
The librarians and your professor are here every step of the way.
Full-text collection of over 200 core academic subjects, language and quotation dictionaries, as well as Oxford University Press encyclopedias and companions series.
To find books (and more!) use DePauw's Discovery search. It will also search materials owned by libraries all over the world.
Sometimes we don't have access to the item you want, but we have a way of getting it for you...Interlibrary Loan. If you don't find a link to full-text or a call number, you'll see this button:
If you request an item using Interlibrary Loan, it will take up to 7-10 days to be received. When the item comes in, you will be notified by e-mail. Some items will be available electronically in your ILL account; others you will pick up at the Circulation desk.
Login to ILLiad to enter information for a request that you need to make manually, to check the status of a request, or to request a renewal.
Academic Search Complete
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Journal article archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. Begins with vol. 1, issue 1, 1800's, or even earlier (most titles exclude the most recent 3-5 years; some titles have current issue access).
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. 1925+ and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text
Articles(or article summaries) from scholarly journals, magazines and books covering film and television. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD) with Full Text
Journal articles, & indexes books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on theatre & performance internationally. Some as far back as 1900, mostly 1970+. 90% in English. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
A full-text article database of popular and trade news from around the world; company profiles; accounting literature and legal information largely focusing on U.S. and North America.
Full text articles from about 200 newspapers, magazines & journals of the alternative, independent (generally left wing) press. 2 users.
Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, predominately in the United States, 1959-present. Includes Asian-American, Jewish-American, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European-American, multi-ethnic communities and more.
U.S. Major Dailies
Includes 1985+ of the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, the Chicago Tribune, and the Los Angeles Times.
Throughout your searches you will see this icon/button:
Click on it to see:
- if the article is online in another database
- if we have a physical copy in the libraries
- if not, and it looks useful for your research, you can request an Interlibrary Loan
To find full text for articles or ebooks when using our Discovery Search, click the Access Online button: