Skip to main content

Academic Search Premier: Database Tips: Home

This guide highlights Academic Search Premier and its features and gives tips and tricks for the database.

Welcome to Academic Search Premier!

If you've ever had to write a research paper or find an article for class, chances are you've used Academic Search Premier. This database includes thousands of journal articles covering the arts and humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences. Whether you're looking for the effects of coral bleaching, literary criticism, or the anthropology of food, ASP is the perfect place to start.

Tips and Tricks

  • You can search Academic Search Premier by typing keywords into either the basic or advanced search. You can also narrow your search results to full text, scholarly journals, by date, and more.
  • Most results will have a pdf or html link for the full text of the article, but if not, click on the "find it" button. From this page, click on the "Full Text" links, and you'll be taken to a journal with the full article. If there isn't a Full-Text link, click the interlibrary loan button to get the article from another library.
  • Have you found the perfect article and want to find similar sources? Click on the "Find Similar Results" box on the left of the page and the database will use keywords in the article to search for similar sources!
  • Academic Search Premier offers lots of tools to save articles and searches so you can return to them later. If there's a PDF of the article, you can download it straight to your computer or print out a copy.
  • You can also use the tools on the right to save articles to Google Drive, send them to your email, export the citation to your computer, or save multiple articles to a folder to send to your email. 
  • Want to save your entire search without having to type it in again? Just click on the "share" button to the right of your results and copy and paste the link in the box under "Use Permalink." Save this link to your email or a Google Doc, and you'll be taken back to the same search results.
  • Need help citing your articles? You can cite your source in APA, Chicago, MLA, and more by clicking on the "Cite" button on the right.  Be sure to double check the citation to make sure the formatting is right!
  • Need more citation help? You can also check out our awesome citation LibGuide for more help with citing sources, or come talk with a librarian!

Want to keep getting up-to-date articles on your searches? You can get updates on any new search results by creating an RSS feed or an email alert for your search. First, click on the "Share" box to the right of your search results:  Next, click on either "email alert" or "RSS feed." If you want to create an email alert, select how detailed you want the results and how frequently you want them. If you want to make an RSS feed, click on the link and copy and paste the code. Finally, click the "save alert" button and you'll be updated whenever new search results come in!

Your librarian is

Tiffany Hebb's picture
Tiffany Hebb
Contact:
Roy O. West Library
765.658.4409
thebb@depauw.edu

More Help

Need more help using Academic Search Premier? Check out their help page here or come talk with a librarian!