Summaries of the Settlement
- ALA's Office of Information Technology Policy's Super Simple Summary (2 pages!) A very brief summary of the settlement. Good place to start if you're short on time.
- ALA Summary of the Michigan Agreement An easy to understand overview of the terms of the Michigan agreement and what they mean for libraries.
- Summary from ALA and ARL The Association of Research Libraries and the American Library Association provide a summary from the library perspective.
- Copyright Clearence Center's Summary for Authors and Publishers A PowerPoint presentation offered by the CCC for authors and publishers.
- CCC's Summary Audio Recording A presentation by the CCC on the Settlement.
- Reflections on the Google Book Search Settlement by Pamela Samuelson PowerPoint presentation by Professor Pam Samuelson from UC Berkley Law School on the Google Book Search settlement at the OCLC/Kilgour lecture at the University of North Carolina, April 14, 2009.
Blogs on the Settlement
- The Public Index From their About section:
"The Public Index is a project of the Public-Interest Book Search Initiative and the Institute for Information Law and Policy at New York Law School. We are a group of professors, students, and volunteers who believe that the Google Book Search lawsuit and settlement deserve a full, careful, and thoughtful public discussion." - Opposition to Google Books Settlement Jells - Bits Blog - NYTimes.com New York Times reporter Miguel Helft details the opposition to the settlement and offers links to some recent academic papers on the Settlement.
- Throwing the Book at Google | The Big Money Slate's Big Money blog summarizes the controversy surrounding the Settlement.
- Google Book Settlement » Blog posts, articles A list of articles and blog posts on the Settlement assembled by the ALA.
- Who's Messing With the Google Book Settlement? Hint: They're in Redmond, Washington | Epicenter from Wired.com Steven Levy of Wired discusses Microsoft's role in funding the opposition to the Settlement.
About GoogleBooks and the Settlement
The judge has extended the May 5th due dates to object or opt-out through September 5th.
In 2004, Google began working with major research libraries to scan and electronically index millions of books. That database now contains over seven million volumes and is still growing. In 2005, the Author's Guild and a group of large publishers filed suit against Google on behalf of authors and publishers. A settlement has been proposed and is due to come before the Court for a fairness hearing on June 9th, 2009. All published authors with a copyright interest in their work, even if the work has not been scanned, are part of the class action suit and need to claim their work, opt out by May 5th, or object to the settlement.
Settlement Documents
- Google Book Search Settlement Notice to Rights-holders - Books & Inserts Registry The official site for registering a work or opting out. May 5th is the opt out date. This site also includes the full text of the Settlement and all attachments.
- Authors Guild v. Google Settlement Resources Page Information on the case from the Author's Guild. Scroll down for access to documents from the case.
- The "Michigan Amendment" The proposed amendment would provide "partner libraries," those institutions whose books were scanned, with some additional privileges and greater access.
- Library Associations' Brief on the Proposed Settlement The American Association of Research Libraries, American Library Association, and Association of College and Research Libraries brief on the proposed settlement. Worth reading.
News and Other Articles on the Settlement
- Amazon vs. Google Wall Street Journal blog coverage of Amazon CEO Bezos's comments about the proposed settlement.
- NYTimes on the Michigan Agreement Provides details and analysis of the Michigan Agreement.
- U.S. Opens Inquiry Into Google Books Deal - NYTimes.com The US Justice Department has opened an inquiry into the anti-trust aspects of the settlement and the judge has extended the opt-out date until September.
- Google Claims Orphan Books, Raising Alarm in Academia - NYTimes.com Focuses on the orphan works portion of the Settlement.
- Google Settles Suit Over Book-Scanning - NYTimes.com MIGUEL HELFT and MOTOKO RICH provide background information and a summary of the GoogleBooks project and the Settlement.
- Google & the Future of Books - The New York Review of Books Harvard's Cheif Librarian on the Settlement.
- Wired Campus: Internet Archive Wants In on Google Settlement - Chronicle.com Report from the Chronicle of Higher Ed on Internet Archive's request to be added to the Settlement as a defendant.
- Publishers, Authors Prepare To Live Happily Ever After - 11/3/2008 - Publishers Weekly Jim Milliot of Publishers Weekly details the Settlement.
Subject Guide |
Timeline
- Fri, Sep 04th, 2009: Last day to Opt Out of the Settlement
Authors interested in opting out of the Settlement need to do so by May 5th. Those who opt out will not be able to object to the terms of the Settlement, but your works will be removed from the database for display and access uses. - Fri, Sep 04th, 2009: Last day to Object to the Settlement
Authors or publishers who wish to file an objection to the Settlement can follow the instructions provided in the link above. - Wed, Oct 07th, 2009: Fairness Hearing
The Court will hold a fairness hearing to determine whether the proposed Settlement is reasonable. Those who filed objections with notice of intent will have an opportunity to speak. - Sun, Jan 10th, 2010: Last date to file a claim
Last date for an author or publisher to claim a work listed in the database. Authors who do not claim their works by this date will not receive payment.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait