Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Library Home DePauw Home DePauw Home Ask a Librarian

Admin Sign In 

Music  Tags: shaw music  

This is a subject guide for resources in Music
Last update: Oct 14th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.depauw.edu/music  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Websites             Print Page
  
 

Evaluating Websites

Remember to always evaluate a website before using it for research purposes. 

Some criteria for evaluating websites include:

  • Accuracy
  • Authority
  • Coverage
  • Currency
  • Objectivity
  • Purpose
  • Support 

You can always ask a librarian or your professor for an opinion about a specific website as well.

 
 

Reliable web resources & organizations

The Lied and Art Songs Text Page

 

A great website to find information about foreign songs, including Lieder.  The site contains nearly 20,000 texts for Lieder and art songs.  After locating your song, you can view information about who set the work, and who supplied the poetry.  IN addition, you can view translations, which are sometimes available in several languages.

American Memory: Collections (Library of Congress)

 

Click on "Performing Arts" to search the Library of Congress's collections including "African-American Sheet Music, 1850-1920," "Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, 1870-1885," "The American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920," and much more. Essays on related topics are included as well as scanned images of the sheet music, itself!

 

American Music on the World Wide Web

 

(The Society for American Music) Provides links to dramatic, popular, sacred, and classical music sites including opera, jazz, blues, ragtime, gospel, and much more. While some resources pertain to current topics in American music, others offer great historical information.

 

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology-Online (DDM-Online)

 

Provided by the Indiana University School of Music, this site "presents an index to dissertations-in-progress and a bibliography of completed dissertations reported since mid-1995, arranged under the traditional broad categories."

 

IAWM (International Alliance for Women in Music)

 

Offers valuable information for and about women composers and women in music including "bibliographies, discographies, work lists, syllabi, press releases, journal articles and publisher information."

 

K-12 Resources for Music Educators

 

An extensive listing of resources "for music educators and students of all areas and educational levels."

 

Music Publisher's Assocation (MPA)

 

Provides access to MPA publications, a Directory of Music Publishers, and information on international music organizations. Also offers a Copyright Resource Center, complete with a guide to researching copyright holders as well as forms for requesting permission to arrange or copy music.

 

Necrology

 

(database provided by Gaylord Library, Washington University, St. Louis, MO) Includes birth and death dates for important figures in the field of music. Citations for obituaries are included.

 

Norwegian Jazz Base

 

Contains information about the history of jazz in Norway and especially about Norwegian jazz musicians from 1905 to the present. The site includes discographic information about jazz recordings, biographies, historical overviews, photographs, sound clips, and a set of links to musicians' and record companies' Web sites.

 

Public Domain Opera Libretti and Other Vocal Texts

 

Collection of libretti, organized by title and composer.

 

Scout Report Archives

 

"A searchable and browseable database to nearly seven years' worth of the Scout Report and subject-specific Scout Reports. It contains 11,363 critical annotations of carefully selected Internet sites and mailing lists."

 

The Aria Database

 

A collection of information on over 1,200 arias from 170 operas, offering over 380 translations, 1,000 aria texts, and 223 MIDI files. Visitors can do advanced searching or browse the alphabetical listing of arias. The entries are cross-referenced, and most include links or information on finding recordings and related materials.

 

The Choral Public Domain Library

 

"The largest website devoted exclusively to free choral sheet music." Begun in 1998, this site provides almost 4,000 scores of choral music for free downloading.

 

The Classical Music Navigator

 

Provides basic data, important works, and influences of 444 major composers. Browse by composer, geographical location, or musical form or style. This is a great resource for choosing pieces of music that are similar to pieces you already know and appreciate!

 

The Cyber Hymnal

 

Contains more than 5,700 Chrisian hymns and Gospel songs from many denominations. Includes lyrics, scores, MIDI files, pictures, history, and more.

 

The Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music

 

(Johns Hopkins University) This collection "contains over 29,000 pieces of music and focuses on popular American music spanning the period 1780 to 1960." The composer, lyricist, arranger, and performer of the music are listed as well as instrumentation and publication information. Images of the music, itself, are available if the music is in the public domain.

 

The Red Hot Jazz Archive: A History of Jazz Before 1930

 

This site offers biographies, discographies, and photos of early Jazz musicians and bands as well as essays on Jazz before 1930. It also features video clips of Jazz films and substantial examples of early recordings (requires VideoActive Player and RealPlayer).

 

Women Composers and Women's Music

 

(Indiana University Music Library) An extensive classified list of Internet resources offering access to course syllabi, personal home pages, discographies, publishers, and numerous links to other resources devoted to women and music.

 

Worldwide Internet Music Resources

 

(Indiana University Music Library) Well organized and thoughtfully collected, this extensive site provides access to Web information on all topics of music.

Composers

Beethoven Bibliography Database

 

From San Jose State University, "The Beethoven Bibliography Database is a fully-indexed bibliography of published materials relating to Ludwig van Beethoven. The Database currently includes books, articles, and first and early editions of scores from the Beethoven Center's collection." Type O (Other Databases) and then B (Beethoven) to access the database.

 

Classical Composers Database

 

Provides birth and death dates, short biographies, and links to sites with more in-depth information. This is a work in-progress; entries for composers are added regularly.

 

J.S. Bach: Texts of the Complete Vocal Works with English Translation and Commentary

 

Created by Z. Philip Ambrose (classics, University of Vermont), this site provides translations and background material of all of Bach's vocal music. Translations are nonrhyming and preserve original meters and word divisions.

 

Max Reger Institute

 

"It is the aim of the MRI to convey Reger's life and work to a larger audience both for scholars and laypeople alike. The substantial collection and library makes the MRI an important resource to all interested."

 

The Hector Berlioz Website

 

Devoted entirely to the music, life, and works of Berlioz. Contains a photo album, an extensive bibliography, and a collection of full score scans.

 

 

The Richard Wagner Archive

 

This site provides extensive information about the life and work of Wagner. You can read Wagner's writings and letters (mostly in German), look at quotations on Wagner, and read contemporary works on Wagner. A great feature of the site is the link to "Operas" which supplies plot synopses of the composer's operas.

Thanks to Beth Christensen for these wonderful descriptions!

 

 

Librarian Information

Profile ImageMisti Shaw


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Music Library
Greene Ctr for Performing Arts
765/658.4442

Or Facebook me!
Send Email

Subjects:
Music, Dance

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait