Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Library Home DePauw Home DePauw Home Ask a Librarian

Admin Sign In 

Music  Tags: shaw music  

This is a subject guide for resources in Music
Last update: Oct 14th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.depauw.edu/music  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles & Databases             Print Page
  
 

What are Databases?

Databases help you find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, or other information sources like books, videos, and maps.

Some focus on a kind of source (like newspaper articles); most of these focus on scholarly research in music.

 

Find It

Once you find an article you would like to access, full text may be available by clicking on the Find it button. The Find it button will check to see if the article is available in another database, to see if the library has a copy of the article in print, or let you borrow the item using Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).

 

Databases for Music Research

  • Music Index  
      
    The major index to periodical literature in the field of music. Indexes obituaries, book reviews, reviews of performances, and scholarly articles from over 300 music periodicals. Does not include abstracts. Covers 1975-present. Also available in print.
  • RILM Abstracts in Music Literature  
      
    An index to literature about music, include musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. Includes abstracts in English. 1967-Present. Also available in print.
  • International Index to Music Periodicals  
      
    An index to a wide variety of music periodicals, some dated back to the late 1800s. Abstracts are available for articles dated 1996-present. Covers 1874-present. Many are in full-text
  • JSTOR Complete  
      
    Music section contains the complete runs of 36 music journals in full-text. A great tool for locating primary source materials including those interested in audience reception, and early music criticism.
  • International Index to the Performing Arts  
      
    Indexes over 200 international performing arts periodicals, plus related articles and obituaries in The New York Times and The Washington Post. Great for research delving into dance and theater.
  • ERIC  
      
    An index to education journals, plus curricular material and reports gathered by the US Department of Education.
 

Librarian Information

Profile ImageMisti Shaw


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Music Library
Greene Ctr for Performing Arts
765/658.4442

Or Facebook me!
Send Email

Subjects:
Music, Dance

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait