What are Reference Tools?
Reference tools give summaries & background information, suggestions of important readings, and help focusing your research topic. They include encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical compilations, and thematic catalogs. Most of these books are shelved upstairs by the elevator
Examples of Reference Tools
- New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians, also available ONLINE - Stanley Sadie, print; Laura Macy, online.
Call Number: Music Library REF ML100.N48 2001; 29 volumes.
The most comprehensive and authoritative source on music in the English language. Signed articles are written by specialists in the field and include extensivebibliographies. The online version incorporates The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, including sound files and numerous links to outside web sources. - Bakers Biographical Dictionary of Musicians - Nicolas Slonimsky
Call Number: Music Library REF ML105.B16 2001
A useful and reliable dictionary offering concise biographical information about musicians from all times and places. Not a source for complete information, but a handy quick reference tool. Major works by composers are listed. - Music Analyses: An Annotated Guide to the Literature - Harold Diamond
Call Number: Music Library REF ML128.A7 D5 1991
A superb annotated bibliography of music criticism appropriate to the music generalist and undergraduate student. Arranged by composer with subdivisions of general articles, and articles devoted to individual works. - New Grove Dictionary of Opera, also available ONLINE - Stanley Sadie
Call Number: Music Library REF ML102.O6 N5 1992 and ONLINE
An important specialized Grove encyclopedia. Be sure to look under the title of individual operas as well as names of composers, performers, and more general subject terms. - New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, also available ONLINE - Stanley Sadie
Call Number: Music Library REF ML102.J3 N48 2001, and ONLINE
The "largest dictionary of jazz ever published." Scholarly articles on all aspects of jazz. Helpful bibliographies and many photographs included. An essential starting point for jazz research. - New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments - Stanley Sadie
Call Number: Music Library REF ML102.I5 N48 1984, 3 vols.
A "spin-off" of New Grove, this encyclopedia expands many of the articles on musical instruments and adds information for instruments that did not get separate entries before. Contains excellent bibliographies and illustrations. A good source of historical information about instruments appearing in works of art. - The New Oxford Companion to Music - Denis Arnold
Call Number: Music Library REF ML100.S37 1983
Aims to give general readers concise information about music, including composers, forms, well-known musical works, instruments, and other music-related topics. Includes several illustrations, and some bibliographies. Arranged alphabetically - Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Call Number: Music Library REF ML100 .G16 1998
A terrific source for gaining an overview of information about music from all over the world. Volumes are arranged by geographic area, with the last (10th) volume providing a valuable discussion of general perspectives about world musics. - Guiness Encyclopedia of Popular Music - Colin Larkin, ed.
Call Number: Music Library REF ML102.P66 G84 1992
Covers all styles of popular music (until 1992), including rock, jazz, blues, soul, country, reggae, and Latin and African pop. Articles cover individuals, groups, subjects, with many discographies.
Search for Other Reference Tools
Search by subject or topic:
Librarian Information |
Misti ShawOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Music Library
Greene Ctr for Performing Arts
765/658.4442
Or Facebook me!
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Dance
![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Music Library
Greene Ctr for Performing Arts
765/658.4442
Or Facebook me!
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Dance
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait