Reference Books
These books are all available in the reference collection on the main floor of Roy O. West Library. Unless your professor has placed them on Reserve, they are available for a 3-day checkout period. Book descriptions come from Google Books or Amazon.com.
Science fact and science fiction: an encyclopedia - Stableford, Brian M.
Call Number: ROW Reference: Q123 .S735 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 0415974607
Works of science fiction use the ideas and the vocabulary of all sciences to create valid narratives that explore the future effects of science on events and human beings. This book examines in how science has propelled science-fiction and, to a lesser extent, how science fiction has influenced the sciences.
Anatomy of Wonder: A Critical Guide to Science Fiction - Barron, Neil
Call Number: ROW Reference: PN3433.8 .A57 2004
ISBN/ISSN: 1591581710
Users will find succinct, critical discussions of more than 1,400 science fiction novels, story collections, and anthologies, along with a comprehensive survey of the "secondary" literature, chapters on teaching science fiction, titles appropriate for--or appealing to--teens, a directory of libraries containing significant collections of science fiction, and and award-winning titles and titles of literary merit. Author, title, and theme indexes provide additional points of access.
Historical Dictionary of Science Fiction Literature - Stableford, Brian M.
Call Number: ROW Reference: PN3433.4 .S73 2004
ISBN/ISSN: 0810849380
This reference tracks the development of speculative fiction influenced by the advancement of science and the idea of progress from the eighteenth century to the present day. The major authors and publications of the genre and significant subgenres are covered. Additionally there are entries on fields of science and technology which have been particularly prolific in provoking such speculation.
French Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror and Pulp Fiction - Lofficier, Jean-Marc
Call Number: ROW Reference: PQ637.F3 L64 2000
ISBN/ISSN: 0786405961
The volume is divided into two parts. Part I gives historical overviews, complete lists, descriptions, and summaries for works in film, television, radio, animation, comic books, and graphic novels. This section also includes interviews with animation director Ren Laloux and comic book artist Moebius, as well as comments from filmmaker Luc Besson. Biographies are provided for over 200 important contributors to television and graphic arts. Part II covers the major authors and literary trends of French science fiction, fantasy, and horror from the Middle Ages to the present day.
Science Fiction: The Illustrated Encyclopedia - Clute, John
Call Number: ROW Reference: PN3433.4 .C57 1995
ISBN/ISSN: 0789401851
Arranged primarily by decade within each of eight chapters, the book covers visions of the future (accurate and off the mark); themes in history; influential magazines (from early pulp to the present); major authors (there are sketches of over 100 writers, photographs, signatures, and chronological bibliographies of major works); classic titles; graphic works; and genre films and international television. Timetables in the chapter on history include science-fiction events; film, radio, and TV; and magazines and world events.
The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction - Clute, John & Peter Nicholls
Call Number: ROW Reference: PN3433.4 .E53 1995
ISBN/ISSN: 031213486X
When the first edition of The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction was published in 1979, it was immediately hailed as a classic work of reference. Frank Herbert described it as 'the most valuable science fiction source book ever written' and Isaac Asimov said 'It will become the Bible for all science fiction fans.'. This new edition has taken years to prepare and is much more than a simple updating. It now contains well over 4,300 entriesMagill's Guide to Science Fiction and Fantasy Literature - Shippey, T.A. (editor)
Call Number: ROW Reference: PN3433.8 .M345 1996
These four volumes cover 791 books or series, 238 of them published during the 1980s and 1990s. The entries are 1,000 words long for single books and 1,500 for series, with a one-sentence summary beginning each entry followed by bibliographical information. The books are identified as science fiction or fantasy and assigned to one of 37 genre categories. An extensive plot summary and identification of the main characters are provided. The rest of the entry contains general criticism of the work in relation to the genre and the author's body of work. Volume 4 contains an extensive bibliography of critical works on science fiction and fantasy, a list of major award winners, and a genre index.
Encyclopedia of Utopian Literature - Snodgrass, Mary Ellen
Call Number: ROW Reference: PN56.U8 S66 1995
Offers brief summaries of utopian novels, discusses concepts related to utopias and dystopias, and offers profiles of utopian writers
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait