2003 edition of MLA Style Articles, 2009 editionBooks, 2009 editionElectronic Sources, 2009 editionIn-Text Citations, 2009 editionMiscellaneous, 2009 edition
2001 edition of APA Style Articles, 2009 editionBooks, 2009 editionElectronic Sources, 2009 editionIn-Text Citations, 2009 edition
Articles (Notes/Bibliography Style)Articles (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)Books (Notes/Bibliography Style)Books (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)Electronic Sources (Notes/Bibliography Style)Electronic Sources (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)Miscellaneous (Notes/Bibliography Style)Miscellaneous (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Library Home DePauw Home DePauw Home Ask a Librarian

Admin Sign In 

Citation Guides  Tags: szpunar citation  

This library guide provides assistance in citing sources for papers
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.depauw.edu/citationguides  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Turabian Style             Print Page
  
 

Introduction

The most recent edition of Turabian's A Manual for Writers is kept at the Reference Desk at the Roy O West Library. The Turabian Manual is also available in the Prevo and Music Reference collections.

Call number: PN203 .T8 2007

Additional Info

Additional information on Chicago/Turabian style may be found at these websites:

 
 

Overview

Turabian Style

This page contains general information about Turabian style.  For specific examples of how to format materials, mouse over the heading for this page and then click on the type of material from the menu.

Turabian Style has two options for paper formats:

  • Notes/Bibliography Style
  • Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style

Notes/Bibliography Style

When you use the Notes/Bibliography Style, you cite a source by placing a superscript number at the end of the sentence that refers to that source. The numbers correspond to a note with the same number.  The notes are either in the footer of a paper (footnotes) or at the end of the paper (endnotes). At the end of the paper, all sources are listed on a Bibliography page alphabetically by author. 

If you have more than one item by the same author, they are listed as follows, alphabetized by title.

Twain, Mark. Following the Equator: A Journey Around the World. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1899.

---. Tom Sawyer Abroad. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1896.

Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style

If you use the Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style, then you cite a source by placing a parenthetical citation next to your reference to that source. If you are using a direct quotation, the citation comes immediately after the quotation, otherwise it comes at the end of the sentence before the final punctuation mark.   At the end of the paper, all sources are listed on a References page alphabetically by author. (This style is also known as the Author-Date Style.)

If you have more than one item by the same author, they are listed as follows, by year of publication.

Twain, Mark. 1896. Tom Sawyer abroad. New York: Harper & Brothers.

Twain, Mark. 1899. Following the equator: A journey around the world. New York: Harper & Brothers.

You cannot mix and match these styles; only one style should be used in each paper.

 

History

The Chicago and Turabian styles are nearly identical.

Kate Turabian, the dissertation secretary at the University of Chicago for over 30 years, developed her guide for students and researchers writing papers, theses, and dissertations. Her manual is based on the University of Chicago Press's Manual of Style and departs from it in few places. "Turabian," as her guide is called, synthesizes the rules most important for students' papers and other scholarly research not intended for publication, and omits some of the publishing details and options that "Chicago" provides.

 

Librarian Info

Profile ImageRuth Szpunar


Contact Info:
I am at the Reference Desk on Monday evenings from 6:30-10, and on Wednesdays from 12:30-3. Please feel free to set up a private research consultation anytime as well!
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait