2003 edition of MLA Style Articles, 2009 editionBooks, 2009 editionElectronic Sources, 2009 editionIn-Text Citations, 2009 editionMiscellaneous, 2009 edition
2001 edition of APA Style Articles, 2009 editionBooks, 2009 editionElectronic Sources, 2009 editionIn-Text Citations, 2009 edition
Articles (Notes/Bibliography Style)Articles (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)Books (Notes/Bibliography Style)Books (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)Electronic Sources (Notes/Bibliography Style)Electronic Sources (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)Miscellaneous (Notes/Bibliography Style)Miscellaneous (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Library Home DePauw Home DePauw Home Ask a Librarian

Admin Sign In 

Citation Guides  Tags: szpunar citation  

This library guide provides assistance in citing sources for papers
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.depauw.edu/citationguides  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Books, 2009 edition             Print Page
  
 

Books

Type of Source:
General Example: Entry:

Single Author

Gutman, R. W. (1999). Mozart: A cultural biography. New York: Harcourt Brace.

7.02 (18)

Two to Seven Authors

Hock, R., Smith, A., & Price, G. (2004). The extreme searcher’s Internet handbook: A guide for the serious searcher. Medford: CyberAge Books.

6.27

Eight or More Authors

Davidson, W., Sweeney, D., Stampfl, R., Johnson, F., Errman, C., Menszer, G.,...Janet, P. (1988). Retailing management. New York: Wiley.

6.27
Corporate Author National Council of Teachers of Mathematics. (1929). The fourth yearbook. New York: J.J. Little and
     Ives Company.
6.27
No Author NAICS desk reference: The North American industry classification system desk reference. (2000).
     Indianapolis: JIST Works.
6.27
Second or Subsequent Edition

Walker, D. (2006). The geoscience handbook (4th ed.). Alexandria, Virginia: American Geological Institute.

7.02
Edited Book

Rosenblum, J. (Ed.). (2005). The Greenwood companion to Shakespeare: A comprehensive guide
     for students
. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.

7.02
Multi-Volume Work

Smith, D. E. (1958). History of Poland. (Vol. 2). New York: Dover Publications.

Smith, D. E. (1958). History of Poland. (Vols. 1-3). New York: Dover Publications.

7.02 (23)

Book Chapter

Barrett, R. (2005). Shakespeare's women. In J. Rosenblum (Ed.), The Greenwood companion to Shakespeare: A comprehensive guide for students (pp. 41-44). Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.

7.02 (25)

Translation

Calvino, I. (2000). Why read the classics? (M. McLaughlin, Trans.). New York: Vintage Books. (Original work published 1958).

7.02 (26)
Reference Book
Myers, J., & Wukasch D. (2003). Dictionary of poetic terms. Denton, Texas: University of North Texas
     Press.
7.02 (27)
Entry in a Reference Book Myers, J., & Wukasch D. (2003). Irony. In Dictionary of poetic terms. (pp. 176-177). Denton, Texas:
     University of North Texas Press.
7.02
Doctoral Dissertation Ripley, R. M. (1998). Neural network models for breast cancer prognosis (Doctoral dissertation, University of Oxford, England). Retrieved from http://www.stats.ox.ac.uk/~ruth/thesis.pdf 7.05
Master's Thesis
Harlan, R. J. (1948). A working program in literature for the high school and the home (Master's thesis). 7.05

For additional examples, see pages 202-208 in the APA Publication Manual.

 

Librarian Info

Profile ImageRuth Szpunar


Contact Info:
I am at the Reference Desk on Monday evenings from 6:30-10, and on Wednesdays from 12:30-3. Please feel free to set up a private research consultation anytime as well!
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait