2003 edition of MLA Style Articles, 2009 editionBooks, 2009 editionElectronic Sources, 2009 editionIn-Text Citations, 2009 editionMiscellaneous, 2009 edition
2001 edition of APA Style Articles, 2009 editionBooks, 2009 editionElectronic Sources, 2009 editionIn-Text Citations, 2009 edition
Articles (Notes/Bibliography Style)Articles (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)Books (Notes/Bibliography Style)Books (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)Electronic Sources (Notes/Bibliography Style)Electronic Sources (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)Miscellaneous (Notes/Bibliography Style)Miscellaneous (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Library Home DePauw Home DePauw Home Ask a Librarian

Admin Sign In 

Citation Guides  Tags: szpunar citation  

This library guide provides assistance in citing sources for papers
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.depauw.edu/citationguides  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Books, 2009 edition             Print Page
  
 

Books

Type of Source:
General Example: Entry:

Single Author

Gutman, Robert W. Mozart: A Cultural Biography. New York: Harcourt Brace, 1999. Print.

5.5.2

Anthology

Rosenblum, Joseph, ed. The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare: A Comprehensive Guide for Students. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 2005. Print.

5.5.3

Two or Three Authors

Hock, Randolph, Mary Dean, and Gary Price. The Extreme Searcher’s Internet Handbook: A Guide for the Serious Searcher. Medford: CyberAge, 2004. Print.

5.5.4

Four or More Authors

Davidson, William, et al. Retailing Management. New York: Wiley, 1988. Print.

or

Davidson, William, David Sweeney, Robert Stampfl, Fran Johnson. Retailing Management. New York: Wiley, 1988. Print.

5.5.4

Corporate Author

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics. The Fourth Yearbook. Ed. W.D. Reeve. New York: Little, 1929. Print.

5.5.5

Part of an Anthology

Willson, Jr., Robert F. "William Shakespeare's Theater." The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare: A Comprehensive Guide for Students. Ed. Joseph Rosenblum. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 2005. 47-64. Print.

5.5.6

Entry in a Reference Book

"Agriculture." Webster's New World College Dictionary. 3rd ed. 1997. Print.

"Stanza." Dictionary of Poetic Terms. Denton, Texas: U of North Texas P, 2003. Print.

5.5.7
Introduction, Preface, Foreward, or Afterword

Rizvi, Gowher, and Guido Bertucci. Foreword. Decentralizing Governance: Emerging Concepts and Practices. Ed. G.
     Shabbir Cheema and Dennis A. Rondinelli. Washington, D.C.: Brookings Institution, 2007. ix-x.  Print.

5.5.8

No Author

NAICS Desk Reference: The North American Industry Classification System Desk Reference. Indianapolis: JIST Works, 2000. Print.

5.5.9

Scholarly Edition

Austen, Jane. Northanger Abbey. Eds. Barbara M. Benedict and Deirdre Le Faye. New York: Cambridge UP, 2006. Print.

5.5.10

Translation

Calvino, Italo. Why Read the Classics? Trans. Martin McLaughlin. New York: Vintage, 2000. Print.

5.5.11

Second or Subsequent Edition

Walker, Douglas. The Geoscience Handbook. 4th ed. Alexandria, Virginia: American Geological Institute, 2006. Print.

5.5.13

Multivolume Work

Smith, Drew E. History of Poland. Vol. 2. New York: Dover, 1958. Print.

Smith, Drew E. History of Poland. 3 vols. New York: Dover, 1958. Print.

5.5.14

Series

Dean, Nathaniel, ed. African Americans in Mathematics. New York: Greenwood Society, 2000. Print. Discrete Math. and Theoretical Comp. Sci.

5.5.15

Republished Book

Austen, Jane. Sense and Sensibility. 1811. New York: Cambridge UP, 2006. Print.

5.5.16
Dissertation Ripley, Ruth M. "Neural Network Models for Breast Cancer Prognosis." Diss. Oxford University,
     1998. Print.
5.5.26

Multiple Parts of an Anthology

Barrett, Rachel. "Shakespeare's Women." Rosenblum 41-44.

Rosenblum, Joseph, ed. The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare: A Comprehensive Guide for Students. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 2005. Print.

Willson, Jr., Robert F. "William Shakespeare's Theater." Rosenblum 47-64.

5.3.6

For additional examples and explanations, see pages 148-181 in the MLA Handbook.

 

Librarian Info

Profile ImageRuth Szpunar


Contact Info:
I am at the Reference Desk on Monday evenings from 6:30-10, and on Wednesdays from 12:30-3. Please feel free to set up a private research consultation anytime as well!
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait