2003 edition of MLA Style Articles, 2009 editionBooks, 2009 editionElectronic Sources, 2009 editionIn-Text Citations, 2009 editionMiscellaneous, 2009 edition
2001 edition of APA Style Articles, 2009 editionBooks, 2009 editionElectronic Sources, 2009 editionIn-Text Citations, 2009 edition
Articles (Notes/Bibliography Style)Articles (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)Books (Notes/Bibliography Style)Books (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)Electronic Sources (Notes/Bibliography Style)Electronic Sources (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)Miscellaneous (Notes/Bibliography Style)Miscellaneous (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Library Home DePauw Home DePauw Home Ask a Librarian

Admin Sign In 

Citation Guides  Tags: szpunar citation  

This library guide provides assistance in citing sources for papers
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.depauw.edu/citationguides  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Books (Notes/Bibliography Style)             Print Page
  
 

Books

Type of Source: General Example: Entry:
Key

N: Note

B: Bibliographic Entry
All

Single Author

N:        1. Robert W. Gutman, Mozart: A Cultural Biography (New York: Harcourt Brace, 1999), 188-189.

B:  Gutman, Robert W. Mozart: A Cultural Biography. New York: Harcourt Brace, 1999.

17.1.1

Two or Three Authors

N:        2. Randolph Hock and Gary Price, The Extreme Searcher’s Internet Handbook: A Guide for the Serious Searcher (Medford: CyberAge Books, 2004), 103-7.

B: Hock, Randolph, and Gary Price. The Extreme Searcher’s Internet Handbook: A Guide for the
     Serious Searcher.
Medford: CyberAge Books, 2004.

17.1.1

Four or More Authors

N:        3. William Davidson et al., Retailing Management, 6th ed. (New York: Wiley, 1988), 15-35.

B: Davidson, William, Daniel Sweeney, Susan Ewer, and Ronald Stampfl. Retailing
       Management
. 6th ed. New York: Wiley, 1988.

17.1.1

No Author

N:        4. NAICS Desk Reference: The North American Industry Classification System Desk Reference (Indianapolis: JIST Works, 2000), 74-9.

B:  NAICS Desk Reference: The North American Industry Classification System Desk Reference.
     Indianapolis: JIST Works, 2000.

17.1.1
Edited Book

N:        5. Jane Austen, Northanger Abbey, ed. Barbara M. Benedict and Deirdre Le Faye (New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006), 95-9.

B: Austen, Jane. Northanger Abbey. Edited by Barbara M. Benedict and Deirdre Le Faye. New
           York: Cambridge University Press, 2006.

17.1.1
Translation

N:        6. Italo Calvino, Why Read the Classics? trans. Martin McLaughlin (New York: Vintage Books, 2000), 55-65.

B: Calvino, Italo.  Why Read the Classics? Translated by Martin McLaughlin. New York: Vintage
            Books, 2000.

17.1.1
Anthology

N:        7. John Rosenblum and Joseph Smith, eds., The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare: A Comprehensive Guide for Students (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2005), 256-300.

B: Rosenblum, John, and Joseph Smith, eds. The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare: A
            Comprehensive Guide for Students
. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press. 2005.

17.1.1
Corporate Author

N:        8. National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, The Fourth Yearbook (New York: J.J. Little and Ives Company, 1929), 200-5.

B: National Council of Teachers of Mathematics. The Fourth Yearbook. New York: J.J. Little and
            Ives Company, 1929.

17.1.1
Duplicate Author

N:        9. Mark Twain, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer (New York, Harper & Brothers, 1903), 32-42.

           10. Mark Twain, The Diary of Adam and Eve (New York: Modern Library, 1906), 67-8.

B: Twain, Mark. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer. New York, Harper & Brothers, 1903.

---. The Diary of Adam and Eve. New York: Modern Library, 1906.

16.2.2
Second or Subsequent Edition

N:        11. Douglas Walker, The Geoscience Handbook, 4th ed. (Alexandria, Virginia: American Geological Institute, 2006), 84-96.

B: Walker, Douglas. The Geoscience Handbook. 4th ed. Alexandria, Virginia: American
            Geological Institute, 2006.

17.1.3
Republished Book

N:        12. Jane Austen, Sense and Sensibility, (1811; repr., New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006), 203-20.

B: Austen, Jane. Sense and Sensibility. 1811. Reprint, New York: Cambridge University Press,
            2006.

17.1.
Multi-Volume Work

N:        13. Drew E. Smith, History of Poland (New York: Dover Publications, 1958), 2:87-99.

B: Smith, Drew E. History of Poland. Vol. 2. New York: Dover Publications, 1958.

N:        14. Drew E. Smith, History of Poland. (New York: Dover Publications, 1958), 3:46-98.

B: Smith, Drew E. History of Poland. 3 vols. New York: Dover Publications, 1958.

17.1.4
Series

N:        15. Nathaniel Dean, ed., African Americans in Mathematics, Discrete Mathamatics and Theoretical Computer Science (New York: Greenwood Society, 2000), 67-87.

B: Dean, Nathaniel, ed. African Americans in Mathematics. Discrete Mathamatics and
           Theoretical Computer Science. New York: Greenwood Society, 2000.

17.1.5

Chapter in an Anthology

N:        16. Robert F. Wilson, "William Shakespeare's Theater," In The Greenwood companion to Shakespeare: A Comprehensive Guide for Students, ed. Joseph Rosenblum (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2005), 50-5.

B: Wilson, Robert F. "William Shakespeare's Theater." In The Greenwood Companion to
         Shakespeare: A Comprehensive Guide for Students
, edited by Joseph Rosenblum,
         47-64. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2005.

17.1.8
Introduction, Preface, Foreward, or Afterword

N:        17. Charles Beem, introduction to The Lioness Roared: The Problems of Female Rule in English History (New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2006), 3-10.

B: Beem, Charles. Introduction to The Lioness Roared: The Problems of Female Rule in English
            History
. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2006.

N:        18. Miles Rizvi, Susan Gowher, and Guido Bertucci, foreword to Decentralizing Governance: Emerging Concepts and Practices, by Dennis A. Rondinelli (Washington, D.C.: Brookings Institution Press, 2007), ii.

B: Rizvi, Miles, Susan Gowher, and Guido Bertucci. Foreword to Decentralizing Governance:
            Emerging Concepts and Practices
, by Dennis A. Rondinelli. Washington, D.C.: Brookings
            Institution Press, 2007.

17.1.8
Multiple Parts of an Edited Book

N:        19. Rachel Barrett, "Shakespeare's Women," in The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare: A Comprehensive Guide for Students, ed. Joseph Rosenblum (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2005), 41-44.

           20. Willson, Robert F., "William Shakespeare's Theater," in Rosenblum, 47-64.

           21. Barrett, 45.

           22. Willson, 65.

B: Barrett, Rachel. "Shakespeare's Women." In Rosenblum, 41-44.

Rosenblum, Joseph, ed. 2005. The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare: A Comprehensive Guide for Students. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.

Willson, Robert F. "William Shakespeare's Theater." In Rosenblum, 47-64
17.1.8
The Bible

N:        23. Dan. 3:7 [NAB].

B: Do not include the Bible on reference list.

17.5.2
Reference Book

N:        24. John Myers and David Wukasch. Dictionary of Poetic Terms (Denton, Texas: University of North Texas Press, 2003), 56.

B: Myers, John, and David Wukasch. Dictionary of Poetic Terrms. Denton, Texas: University of
           North Texas Press, 2003.

17.5.3
Dissertation

N:        25. Ruth M. Ripley, "Neural Networks for Breast Cancer Prognosis." (PhD diss., Oxford University, 1998), 23.

B: Ripley, Ruth M. "Neural Networks for Breast Cancer Prognosis." PhD diss., Oxford University,
           1998.

17.6.1

For additional examples, see pages 162-181, 188-193 in the Turabian Manual.

 

Librarian Info

Profile ImageRuth Szpunar


Contact Info:
I am at the Reference Desk on Monday evenings from 6:30-10, and on Wednesdays from 12:30-3. Please feel free to set up a private research consultation anytime as well!
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait