2003 edition of MLA Style Articles, 2009 editionBooks, 2009 editionElectronic Sources, 2009 editionIn-Text Citations, 2009 editionMiscellaneous, 2009 edition
2001 edition of APA Style Articles, 2009 editionBooks, 2009 editionElectronic Sources, 2009 editionIn-Text Citations, 2009 edition
Articles (Notes/Bibliography Style)Articles (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)Books (Notes/Bibliography Style)Books (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)Electronic Sources (Notes/Bibliography Style)Electronic Sources (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)Miscellaneous (Notes/Bibliography Style)Miscellaneous (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Library Home DePauw Home DePauw Home Ask a Librarian

Admin Sign In 

Citation Guides  Tags: szpunar citation  

This library guide provides assistance in citing sources for papers
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.depauw.edu/citationguides  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Books (Parenthetical Citations/Reference List Style)             Print Page
  
 

Books

Type of Source: General Example: Entry:
Key

R: Reference List Entry

P: Parenthetical Note

Single Author

R: Gutman, Robert W. 1999. Mozart: A cultural biography. New York: Harcourt Brace.

P: (Gutman 1999, 45)

19.1.1

Two or Three Authors

R: Hock, Randolph, and Gary Price. 2004. The extreme searcher’s Internet handbook: A
     guide for the serious searcher.
Medford: CyberAge Books.

P: (Hock and Price 2004, 103-7)

19.1.1

Four or More Authors

R: Davidson, William, Daniel Sweeney, Susan Ewer, and Ronald Stampfl. 1988. Retailing
     management
. 6th ed. New York: Wiley.

P: (Davidson et al. 1988, 15-35)

19.1.1

No Author

R: NAICS desk reference: The North American industry classification system desk
     reference
. 2000. Indianapolis: JIST Works.

P: (NAICS desk reference 2000, 74-9)

19.1.1
Edited Book

R: Austen, Jane. 2006. Northanger abbey. Ed. Barbara M. Benedict and Deirdre Le Faye.
     New York: Cambridge University Press.

P: (Austen 2006, 95-9)

19.1.1
Translation

R: Calvino, Italo. 2000. Why read the classics? Trans. Martin McLaughlin. New York: Vintage
     Books.

P: (Calvino 2000, 55-65)

19.1.1
Anthology

R: Rosenblum, John, and Joseph Smith, eds. 2005. The Greenwood companion to
     Shakespeare: A comprehensive guide for students
. Westport, CT: Greenwood
     Press.

P: (Rosenblum and Smith 2005, 256-300)

19.1.1
Corporate Author

R: National Council of Teachers of Mathematics. 1929. The fourth yearbook. New York: J.J.
     Little and Ives Company.

P: (National Council of Teachers of Mathematics 1929, 200-5)

19.1.1
Duplicate Author

R: Twain, Mark. 1903. The adventures of Tom Sawyer. New York, Harper & Brothers.

---. 1906. The diary of Adam and Eve. New York: Modern Library.

P: (Twain 1903, 32-42)

(Twain 1906, 67-8)

18.2.1
Second or Subsequent Edition

R: Walker, Douglas. 2006. The geoscience handbook. 4th ed. Alexandria, Virginia:
     American Geological Institute.

P: (Walker 2006, 84-96)

19.1.4
Republished Book

R: Austen, Jane. 2006. Sense and sensibility. New York: Cambridge University Press.
    [Orig. pub. 1811.]

P: (Austen 2006, 203-20)

19.1.4
Multi-Volume Work

R: Smith, Drew E. 1958. History of Poland. Vol. 2. New York: Dover Publications.

P: (Smith 1958, 2:87-99)

R: Smith, Drew E. 1958. History of Poland. 3 vols. New York: Dover Publications.

P: (Smith 1958, 3:46-98)

19.1.5
Series

R: Dean, Nathaniel, ed. 2000. African Americans in mathematics. Discrete Mathamatics
    and Theoretical Computer Science. New York: Greenwood Society.

P: (Dean 2000, 67-87)

19.1.6

Chapter in an Anthology

R: Willson, Robert F. 2005. William Shakespeare's theater. In The Greenwood
    companion to Shakespeare: A comprehensive guide for students
, ed. Joseph
     Rosenblum, 47-64. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.

P: (Wilson 2005, 50-5)

19.1.9
Introduction, Preface, Foreward, or Afterword

R: Beem, Charles. 2006. Introduction to The lioness roared: The problems of female rule in
     English history
. New  York: Palgrave Macmillan.

P: (Beem 2006, 3-10)

R: Rizvi, Miles, Susan Gowher, and Guido Bertucci. 2007. Foreword to Decentralizing
     governance: Emerging concepts and practices
, by Dennis A. Rondinelli.
     Washington, D.C.: Brookings Institution Press.

P: (Rizvi. Gowher, and Bertucci 2007, ii)

19.1.9
Multiple Parts of an Edited Book

R: Barrett, Rachel. 2005. Westport, CT. In Rosenblum 2005, 41-44.

Rosenblum, Joseph, ed. 2005. The Greenwood companion to Shakespeare: A comprehensive guide for students. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.

Willson, Robert F. 2005. Westport, CT. In Rosenblum 2005, 47-64.

P: (Barrett 2005, 42-3)

(Gutman 2005, 49-50)

19.1.9
The Bible

R: Do not include the Bible on reference list.

P: (Dan. 3:7 [NAB])

19.5.2
Reference Book

R: Myers, John, and David Wukasch. 2003. Dictionary of poetic terms. Denton, Texas:
     University of North Texas Press.

P: (Myers and Wukasch 2003, 56)

19.5.3
Dissertation

R: Ripley, Ruth M. 1998. Neural networks for breast cancer prognosis. PhD diss., Oxford
     University.

P: (Ripley 1998, 34)

19.6.1

For additional examples, see pages 229-247, 254-258 in the Turabian Manual.

 

Librarian Info

Profile ImageRuth Szpunar


Contact Info:
I am at the Reference Desk on Monday evenings from 6:30-10, and on Wednesdays from 12:30-3. Please feel free to set up a private research consultation anytime as well!
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait